New York City. Inhale, exhale.

I spent more than a month without writing. I’ve started 2014 practicing Kundalini Yoga in the magical mountains of Mexico, in January I was in an intensive Zen training in California and now I’m in NY. I’ll write about it back to front.

blog_NY_fev13_bx

In NY everyone walks fast.
It has everything to buy, everything of museums, restaurants, shows. It has everything of everything.
Here I remembered reading that the Dalai Lama likes to get into malls to see all the beautiful and delicious things. And then realize that it does not need any of that to be happy.
What do we need to be happy?

Here I also think of Bodhisattva Kannon, bodhisattva is a being, a person who gives up it’s own enlightenment for helping other to be enlighten. And Kannon is the Bodhisattva of compassion, one who has many eyes to see the pain of the world and attend the true needs.
What are our true needs?

Here I think about Philip Seymour Hoffman, who died when I was in town. Which vacuum is this that success does not satisfy?

I walk through the city, the city moves fast.
But how I walk? How are my steps?
The choice is mine, I decide my walking.
If I say I do not want to buy anything of clothes, designs, things it would be a lie.

I walk in the city with in my out of fashion clothes, from my suitcase which came to spend months in Zen Centers. Walk the city with my body and mind that spent months in another rhythm, observing internal and external landscapes. The first impression is that here “stop” and “contemplate” do not exist in the local dictionary.

But I also remember that when I arrived Yokoji, in the mountains, Tenshin, the master there, told me that there was no difference about being in the mountains or in the city, and the important thing is how we live our lives. After a few days in the city I realize that’s it, I’m adapting again. And that adapt takes work, it takes us away from the familiar place and require find ourselves again.

And I finish this post in the Public Library of New York, that despite being on the corner of 5th Avenue and 42nd st. is a quiet place. And so I go searching for that inner place that can be tranquil in the midst of chaos.

Leave a Reply

