Mi casa és tu casa (my home is your home) in Oaxaca

alebrije

My alebrije

I can say that the Mexican phrase “mi casa és tu casa” is more than just an expression, it’s really how Mexicans welcome you. At least that was my experience in Oaxaca.

In the week I arrived in town, I went to Kundalini Yoga class and met the teacher, Doris. She was going on vacation and has asked me if I would give the classes to her. Besides giving the classes to her, I also moved to her house and spent a week there.

She lives with her mother, Dona Lili, a 89 years old lady and one of the most interesting people I’ve met in my live. Her disposition can leave many young people behind. She wakes up early every day, at 8:00 goes to the church where organizes a breakfast for homeless. Then back to the breakfast, the traditional Mexican desayuno, from there she goes to one of his jobs, she owns a hotel and a religious goods store. Back home for lunch, always accompanied by friends or family and later back to work and go to mass. One detail, she is always elegant, dressed in black and wearing heels and going from one place to another driving her car.

But what delighted me most was her joy, a lively and smart look. And a welcome way that made me feel more like a family member than a visit.

IMG_3530

Me, doña Lili, Doris and the little dog Cosita

Another amazing experience was my trip and stay in a small pueblo called Santa Catarina Minas where I went to a craft workshop and stayed with a family there. My trip was organized as part of the project Commune, which I met through David, a Mexican who I met at a Hostel in Oaxaca and has a Brazilian partner who lives in Mexico, João. They have that community tourism project and so generate a source of income for families who are very poor. An incredible project where travel is really being in touch with people and the local reality.

Again, I felt very welcoming, ate in the kitchen with wood oven and adobe wall. But I could see and experience the conditions in which they live. The house had no running water, the water, which came a few days of the week was stored in water tanks improvised in the yard. It has no shower, I took a mug bath. For me, there were only 2 days for them is just their reality. Sometimes we do not realize, but simply having a bathroom with discharge, running sink and shower are a privilege that much of the population of Mexico, Brazil and the world has not. A reality check.

IMG_3441

Lupe my host with her younger son and me

The alebrije workshop (craft super colorful animals made of wood) was at another family home. The children were making together and later we were walking in a small dam near the house. While I did the workshop other family members went to visit the grandmother and later when I came back walking to the house where she was staying, the kids recognized me and called me on the street. Again, I had barely arrived and was being part …

IMG_3430

Me and my Alebrije’s teachers

Leave a Reply

